Blacktop Mojo

Album Review: Blacktop Mojo's Self-Titled — BANDEDA hard-driving Southern rock unit based out of Palestine, Texas, Blacktop Mojo’s fiery blend of post-grunge, classic rock, and metal falls somewhere between Soundgarden, Black Stone Cherry, and Lynyrd Skynyrd. The group’s approach, full of crunchy guitar chugging and minor-key melodies, was firmly in place on their first full-length album, 2014’s I Am, though the richer production of 2017’s Burn the Ships boosted the heaviness of their sound. Founded in 2012 by frontman Matt James and drummer Nathan Gillis, Blacktop Mojo eventually morphed into a five-piece with the addition of bass player Matt Curtis and guitarists Ryan Kiefer and Kenneth Irwin. They self-released their debut album, I Am, in 2014, followed by a heavy bout of touring that saw the group sharing the stage with a wide array of heavy hitters including Bon Jovi, Puddle of Mudd, Sammy Hagar, and Drowning Pool. See for more.

Like Wild Horses

It Won’t Last

Red Enough


Tail Lights


Dream On


Burn The Ships 2017 Full Album

Back to the homepage