Mike Rutherford

Genesis are gearing up for their huge 2021 reunion tourMichael John Cloete Crawford Rutherford (born 2 October 1950) is an English guitarist, bassist, songwriter and singer, best known as co-founder of the rock band Genesis. Rutherford and keyboardist Tony Banks are the group’s two continuous members. Initially serving as Genesis’s bass guitarist and backing vocalist, Rutherford also performed most of the band’s rhythm guitar parts—frequently on twelve-string guitar—in collaboration with successive Genesis lead guitarists Anthony Phillips and Steve Hackett. Following Hackett’s departure from Genesis in 1977, Rutherford assumed the additional role of lead guitarist on the band’s studio albums (beginning with …And Then There Were Three… in 1978). Rutherford was one of the main Genesis songwriters throughout their career and also wrote the lyrics for some of the band’s biggest international hits, such as “Follow You Follow Me”, “Turn It On Again”, “Land of Confusion” and “Throwing It All Away”. He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a member of Genesis in 2010. See for more.

Smallcreep’s Day (Full Suite)

At The End Of The Day

Calling All Stations

At The End of The Day



Halfway There

Time And Time Again

Back to he homepage